Instant Revoke
Instant Revoke allows you to respond quickly in situations where licenses need to be revoked immediately.
You can specify the number of licenses to revoke and define the target user group using conditions such as all users, domain-based users, groups, or external users—offering flexible and targeted control.
By using Instant Revoke, you can instantly remove licenses assigned to unused accounts, helping you optimize license costs and reduce security or operational risks caused by inactive users.
Instant Revoke settings
1. Login to your Jira Cloud site.
2. Go to Apps > Flexible User License in the left sidebar.
3. When the Flexible User License app is launched, select Manage Licenses > Instant Revoke from the top navigation.
4. On the Instant Revoke screen, configure the revocation policies as needed.
Select user scope
Choose which users to revoke licenses from:
All users: Revoke licenses from all users.
Users in selected domains: Revoke licenses from users in specific domains. Select one or more domains from the list.
Users in selected groups: Revoke licenses from users in selected groups. Select one or more groups from the list.
External users: Revoke licenses from users with external domains.
All External email: Revoke licenses from all users with external email domains.
External email: Revoke licenses from users with specific external email domains.
Select one or more external domains from the list.
How to revoke a license
Select how licenses should be revoked:
Remove users from selected access groups: Revoke licenses by removing users from designated access groups. Select one or more access groups from the list.
Change user status to suspended: Revoke licenses by changing the user status to ‘Suspended.’
Number of licenses to revoke
Set the number of licenses you want to revoke:
Enter number of licenses to revoke: Specify how many licenses to revoke.
Includes users who have never been active: Include users who have never been active when calculating the license revocation.
License usage information: You can check the license usage information in the info box at the bottom of the Instant Revoke screen. Use this information as a reference when setting the number of licenses to revoke.
Total license: Total number of licenses for this site.
In use: Number of licenses currently in use.
Available: Number of licenses that are currently available.
5. Click Run Now. Revokes licenses from users starting with those who have been inactive the longest as of today.
How to restore access after a license is revoked
When a revoke or suspend rule runs in Flexible User License, the user’s product access is removed.
In this case, the user may see the following message when they try to log in:
You don’t have access to this product.
This behavior is not an error in Flexible User License. It follows the default user access policy in Atlassian Cloud. In Atlassian Cloud, whether a user can access a product is determined by the Product access configuration.
For example, if your organization approves a specific domain, users from that domain can be automatically granted a license when they access the product, even if an administrator has not manually granted them access. By configuring a user access policy for a domain, organizations can allow users from that domain to receive product access when they log in.
To allow a user whose license was revoked to regain access automatically when they log in, check the following settings:
Product access configuration
User groups and default access group settings
Approved user domains in your organization
For more information, see the Atlassian documentation Control how users get access to apps.
Flexible User License helps manage license usage by revoking existing licenses. Whether a user can regain access afterward depends on the user access policies configured in Atlassian Cloud.